Easiest way to download historic data for research

Hi PA Community,

I am a policy researcher at RAND, and we deployed sensors in Santa Monica (n=25) and Pittsburgh (n=18) back in 2018. I am currently conducting performance evaluation of PA sensors research and had a couple queries. Would be great if I can have your response:

a) With the recent API changes, what is the best way to retrieve data from our previously deployed sensors (Santa Monica - Jan 2018-Dec 2020) and Pittsburgh (March 2019 - Dec 2020). I prefer CSV over JSON.

b) Is there a way to get data from all PA sensors within the city of Santa Monica and the city of Pittsburgh area? I have used Python scripts for historic data before, but it seems like the usage is limited now. That would be super helpful for correlating density of low cost monitors with accuracy with respect to reference monitors (e.g. 10-minute data for 3 days etc.).

I’d appreciate if you guys have leads, or if someone from PA can help retrieve historic data from our deployed sensors for analysis.

Thanks,
Jalal

Hi Jalal, there are a couple of different ways to collect sensor data.

1. Data can be downloaded online. The following link will give your more information: Download Sensor Data.

2. You can use the historical API endpoints. Currently, only one sensor can be queried at a time for historical data. However, we ask that you keep requests low. This API is not intended for collecting large amounts of data from a high volume of sensors. EDIT: Larger amounts of data can now be collected through the historical endpoints without issue.

3. We may be able to provide the data. If you need a very large data set (several thousands of sensors), it may be preferred that you contact us, and we provide the data. This will help maintain low usage of the API.