New Community Scientist Role added to the PurpleAir Team

Hi PurpleAir Community!
I’m new to the PurpleAir Team and want to introduce myself as the Director of Community Science. I look forward to learning more about how you use PurpleAir sensors for your community projects and research studies. The PurpleAir Community Forum offers a place to share your project details: How did it get started? What was the problem you wanted to solve? How are you using PurpleAir Data to make a change? What were your struggles, if any, along the way?

Sharing your project details in the PurpleAir Community Forum encourages other groups to get motivated! It’s a space to ask questions, brainstorm ideas, and enhance collaboration in air quality monitoring. So go ahead and create a post here in the Community Projects category. We can’t wait to hear about your project!

Cheers,
Kari

8 Likes

Hi Kari,

Welcome and congratulations on your new role as Director of Community Science. I am a high school science teacher with a strong interest in AQ. It started with learning about the Bucket Brigade back in the 2000s. I never thought about AQ until Denny Larson’s presentation which made it clear that once you learn something (once you learn the facts) then you cannot unlearn it, you can deny facts but you cannot unlearn facts. I never thought about how much air we breathe versus water we drink and then it was clear you cannot avoid air. We are all vulnerable and that put things in perspective. This was in upstate NY. I taught in a high school across the Genesee River from Eastman Kodak.