Is there an Introductory guide on how to utilise the API to analyse historical data?

Hello,

I first would like to say hello! I am a research scientist that was just introduced to Purpleair and am becoming more familiar on how to utilise the data presented. While my doctorate is in behavioural and spatial (temporal!) ecology, and I am familiar with meteorological and climatic data, I am not the most tech savvy person in the world when it comes to APIs.

I am hoping to learn how to use the API to get historical data from specific sensors in my state (PM 2.5 as well as humidity and temp) . From my understanding, this can be quite a process ranging from getting an API key, to working in python and/or R (I have used both for work but am more familiar with R). While the website and the forum are quite informative, as you can imagine, it can be a bit overwhelming knowing the exact right steps to take in order on how to accomplish my goals. Today I even had to learn more about APIs in themselves!

In any event, would anyone have any step by step tutorials handy or can provide me with links that may allow me to familiarise myself to a workflow to achieve my goals? I.e., programmes or packages to download, what to put in to get the correct data, etc.

I apologise for such a simple question, but even a PDF, link to another forum post, or even a youtube video would be of use as of right now it seems like it is difficult to see the forest from the trees! (so to speak).

Thank you :slight_smile:

1 Like

Hi, you have my undivided attention as i feel i am in the same stage of elusive. I am researcher as well and purpleAir just got to my area to focus on. i honestly not know where to start yet. but I guess all I can do is to try maneuver some thoughts with you if you like. looking forward to hear from you.
Thanks